Bears and Bees

Books Read:
Ferdinand the Bull by Munro Leaf
Buzz by Eileen Spinelli
Disney’s Winnie the Pooh: Try, Try Again by Nancy Parent

Fingerplay:
Here is the beehive, (make a fist)
but where are the bees? (shrug shoulders)
Hidden away where nobody sees (cover fist with other hand)
Count them as they creep out of the hive,
1…2…3…4…5! (slowly open fist one finger at a time)

Song: Bringing Home a Baby Bumblebee
I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me?
I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee
Buzz buzz buzz buzz buzz!

Verses:
I’m bringing home a baby crocodile / Won’t my mommy wear a great big smile? / I’m bringing home a baby crocodile. / Chomp chomp chomp chomp chomp!
I’m bringing home a baby grizzly bear / Won’t my mommy pull out all her hair? / I’m bringing home a baby grizzly bear / Growl growl growl growl growl!
I’m bringing home a baby dinosaur / Won’t my mommy hide behind the door? / I’m bringing home a baby dinosaur. / Clomp clomp clomp clomp clomp

Fingerplay: (with the tune and action of Where is Thumbkin?)
Where is bear? Where is bear?
Here I am. Here I am.
How are you this winter?
Very tired, thank you.
Go to sleep. Go to sleep.
(Have kids shout “WAKE UP BEAR” to do the song again.)

Song: “If You’re a Bear and You Know It”
If you’re a panda bear and you know it, clap your paws
If you’re a polar bear and you know it, show your teeth
If you’re a grizzly bear and you know it, growl real loud
If you’re a bear and you know it, do all three!

Craft:
photo(1)

In honor of A.A. Milne’s birthday, we made Winnie the Pooh masks (found here: http://learncreatelove.com/?p=3204) with a pot of honey with bees flying around it on pipe cleaners. This was SO much fun. Not only did the kids like it, but the parents, too! Though it was simple coloring and gluing, the kids were able to draw on their own faces, attach the bees wherever they wanted, and of course hold the mask up to their face and be a pooh bear!

http://learncreatelove.com/?p=3204
Leave a Reply

